Why is April 19 celebrated as the Day of the Original Peoples?

2 mins read

The Day of the Original Peoples is celebrated on April 19 of each year, according to the recommendation that emerged at the First Inter-American Indigenous Congress held that same day in 1940, in Pátzcuaro, state of Michoacán, Mexico.

This first congress held in Mexico addressed the social and economic situation of the native peoples. The objective is to safeguard and perpetuate the original cultures throughout the continent and created the Inter-American Indigenous Institute, dependent on the Organization of American States.

Argentina adhered to the Patzcuaro document and instituted April 19 as the Day of the Original Peoples, through Decree 7550 of the National Executive Power. Our country is a permanent member and adheres to this claiming date for the rights of the original peoples and the American aboriginal.

From the page of the Argentine Ministry of Culture they instruct us about the indigenous peoples that represent about 5% of the world population.

They also assure that the United Nations Organization estimates that this translates into 370 million people, grouped in more than 5,000 communities, in some 90 countries.

“Although indigenous peoples are synonymous with cultural wealth, respect and preservation of nature, they are among the most disadvantaged populations on the planet”cites website.

The forests of the territories of indigenous peoples play a fundamental role in stabilizing the climate at the local, regional and global levels. They are also home to an enormous diversity of wild fauna and flora.

Map of the Original Peoples in our country

Photo taken from the official website of argentina.gob.ar

In our country 15 indigenous languages ​​are still spoken, some are: Aymara: in Buenos Aires.
Guarani: in Salta, Jujuy, Corrientes, Formosa, Entre Ríos, Misiones, Buenos Aires and CABA.
Wichi: in Salta, Formosa, Chaco, Buenos Aires and CABA.Mapuche, Mapuche-Tehuelche, Rankülche: in Neuquén, Río Negro, Chubut, Mendoza, San Luis, Cordoba, La Pampa, Santa Cruz, Buenos Aires and CABA.Qum: in Formosa, Chaco, Salta, Santa Fe and CABA.

Previous Story

Casper prepares his live action series on the origins of the friendly ghost

Next Story

Inter thrashed Milan and got into the Italian Cup final