This is the proper way to play Halo chronologically.

11/09/2022 21:00

Halo has been the most emblematic franchise of the Microsoft console series, since since the first generation of Xbox arrived, Halo: Combat Evolved was released in late 2001thus becoming a flagship title that achieved great success worldwide and continues to do so today.

The plot follows an interstellar war between humanity and an alien race called “Covenant” where we control a biologically enhanced soldier known as the Master Chief, who must face the threat before it’s too late. However, there are many deliveries that have been released and relate the history of this intergalactic conflict, but you have to follow them in an orderly way to be able to understand the Halo plot very well. Next, we are going to show you how you can play all the video games of the franchise in order.

Halo Infinite is the most expensive project in the history of the industry

How to play Halo in order

How to play Halo in order

The main Halo timeline is divided into two trilogiesthe classic and original developed by Bungie Studios and Gearbox Software, and the second known as “Reclaimer Saga” developed by 343 Industries with Xbox Game Studios where a new story with Master Chief begins, but remains on the same timeline.

original trilogy

halo trilogy

Classic Halo Trilogy

It ranges from Halo: Combat Evolved to Halo 3 where you see the beginning of the war against the Covenant and others secrets of the character are discovered.

Halo: Combat Evolved

Platform: Xbox (2001), PC (2003) y Xbox 360 (2007).

Also known as Halo 1 or Halo CE, here the story begins after the Pillar of Autumn leaves hyperspace to reach a space station as “Halo” because of its ring-like design. During this time, the Covenant attacks the ship and the “Cole Protocol” is put in place to prevent them from getting information from Earth. Therefore, the Master Chief and his companions come out in an escape pod crashing into the ring and only he survives with Cortana’s artificial intelligence, so they have to take care of stopping the Covenant before it’s too late.

Halo 2

Platform: Xbox (2004) y PC (2007).

It is positioned one month after the Master Chief destroyed Installation 04 in Halo: Combat Evolved. Due to the events that happened, the Master Chief is rewarded, while Sangheili Commander Thel ‘Vadamee is sent to trial and punished for allowing the Master Chief to do such an action. Shortly after, a Covenant fleet attacks again, reaching Earth and destroying everything in its path, so the soldiers are going to have to deal with the invasion for humanity to persist.

Halo 3

Platform: Xbox 360 (2007).

Right after Halo 2, the Master Chief discovers a ancient secret in the sands of Africa that could determine the end of the war between the humans and the Covenant. However, this could be the salvation or the destruction of the human race because destiny would be one step away from collapsing.

Reclaimer Trilogy

halo trilogy

Modern Halo Trilogy

Follow the events from Halo 4 to Halo Infinite.

Halo 4

Platform: Xbox 360 (2012).

Four years after Halo 3, people are starting to talk about the history of the SPARTAN-117, where apparently the government wants to find a way to create new soldiers that meet the same characteristics as the Master Chief to have soldiers with the same ability. However, the Master Chief is going to return to face an ancient threat in an unknown world where you will find deadly technology and hidden secrets.

Halo 5: Guardians

Platform: Xbox One (2015).

Halo 5 follows the Master Chief through three different worlds after he has defected, so the Office of Naval Intelligence will keep hunting him, while also going to have to fight against new enemies that are in charge of eliminating planets. The history takes us to three different worlds where the Covenant and the Flood are going to be other obstacles to the main mission.

Halo Infinite

Platform: Xbox One (2021), PC (2021) y Xbox Series X|S (2021).

After the events of Halo 5, humanity is once again in danger when the Master Chief meets a new enemy more powerful than he thought, since it is the bloodthirsty group “The Banished”which was previously part of the Covenant, but have stood out for being ruthless and strong.

Timeline with spin-offs

In case you want to tour the complete story taking into account the spin-offs of Halo, then, we leave you the list in chronological order so that you live the whole experience:

Halo Wars.Halo: Reach.Halo Combat Evolved.Halo 2.Halo 3: ODST.Halo Spartan Strike.Halo 3.Halo Spartan Assault.Halo 4.Halo 5: Guardians.Halo: Infinite.Halo Wars 2.A Halo developer explains the origin of the Master Chief

By Geeke